Keeper of the Lost Cities

Title: Keeper of the Lost Cities
Author: Shannon Messenger
Publisher: Aladdin
Pages: 496 pages
Year of Publication: October 2012
Rating: (1)
37425216_283882102373979_5661508997757272064_n

linesynopsis

Twelve-year-old Sophie Foster has a secret. She’s a Telepath—someone who hears the thoughts of everyone around her. It’s a talent she’s never known how to explain.

Everything changes the day she meets Fitz, a mysterious boy who appears out of nowhere and also reads minds. She discovers there’s a place she does belong, and that staying with her family will place her in grave danger. In the blink of an eye, Sophie is forced to leave behind everything and start a new life in a place that is vastly different from anything she has ever known.

Sophie has new rules to learn and new skills to master, and not everyone is thrilled that she has come “home.” 
There are secrets buried deep in Sophie’s memory—secrets about who she really is and why she was hidden among humans—that other people desperately want. Would even kill for.line

worldDARE I SAY THAT THIS IS THE MOST AMAZING MAGICAL WORLD I’VE EVER READ IN MIDDLE GRADE BOOKS AFTER HARRY POTTER!

Although I must admit that I saw many resemblances to HP but it doesn’t make this book less brilliant!

This book is set in a whole different unique world and I’m amaze by how well the author built this entire magical world. Everything seems very well thought out, every detail of places, histories, people, and creatures, they are so amazingly well written!

chara

Sophie has been feeling out of place for her entire life, she has no friends, and her family sometimes doesn’t understand her, it doesn’t surprise me that she will have this temptation to leave all of her life behind and start a new life in this new world which seems understand her and full of people like her. But, I didn’t expect that she would willingly to go so easily it seems like her family didn’t matter to her at all. She lacks of emotion in the beginning of the book but I’m glad to see she developed as the story goes.

As much as I hate “The Chosen One” trope I won’t deny myself that I like this book so much, I feel kinda irritated though because this book is too centered on Sophie herself, meanwhile there are so many equally amazing characters that should have shine more.

Sophie is also a “Special Snowflake” character which I usually really hate, well I admit I kinda hate her in the beginning but her character development is so well done I turn to love her and want to protect her in the end!

Like I said, there are so many amazing side characters that I think deserve more shining role in this book. Maybe I’ll find it in the next book?

writing

I loooove the writing style, it flows easily with the story, it’s so light and really fun to read. The pace is rather rushed in the end. It’s funny that the climax is the only scene I didn’t like, it feels so forced and end up really quick I barely had time to think.

overall

This is the next MG books that I think I’ll fangirl over after Harry Potter. So I think everyone who love HP should read this book, it’s sad that I don’t see this book much on the blogosphere! I finished this book in 12 hours straight, while I was on shift and working!! This is instantly become my favorite book. I ordered the second book immediately after I finished this, and I really can’t wait to read it!!

thanks.jpg

carolina

18 thoughts on “Keeper of the Lost Cities

      1. @FICTIONOLOGYST OOOOOOH!!!!! I AM ABSOLUTELY IN LOVE WITH THIS SERIES !!!!
        Your blog makes me feel like we’re going to be best friends since we have the same Liking for fiction!!!
        JK!!
        P.S. do recommend me more books if you can! ;-p

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Hi Rose!!! ASDASDJNAJFJASJ I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKE THIS SERIES TOO!! I mean, this series deserve more attention!, riiighhtt?!!

        Well I do have a long list of middle grade fantasy books LOL. Have you read A Place Called Perfect? I read that recently and totally loved it!!

        Like

    1. Thank you so much Raven! It was a good read, if you ever want to try a MG book I suggest you to start by reading this. I’m gonna read Sleeping Giants next, I hope it turn out to be a great read too. Thanks for reading my review babe. Happy reading!

      Like

  1. Oh wow, another MG novel for me to check out! It’s so exciting to hear the world-building is so great, and for me personally, I prefer side characters who are amazing over protagonists who are amazing, so I’m not too worried going in about Sophie. 😉

    Terrific review! Your enthusiasm for this book just convinced me to put it on my TBR, and I’d love to hear your thoughts on the sequel as well! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aaah thank you for reading my review, you are the sweetest!!!! I know, I love amazing side characters too!! I really hope more people would read this series!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aaaah I’m so glad you enjoyed this book! I love Shannon Messenger’s writing style too, with all her em dashes and dramatic pacing — it really sucks you right into the book and the suspenseful storyline. And don’t worry, even though it appears like the story is a bit too centered on Sophie at the beginning of the series, by books three and four things just get completely CRAZY with the development of secondary characters & their relationships. I think you’ll really enjoy the later books in the series if you loved the first book this much!

    Great review, Carolina! Thanks for giving me an excuse to fangirl over KOTLC 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OH MY GOD OH MY GOD!!! You’re freaking me out here, you make me can’t wait to devour the rest of the books!!! Thank you so much for the heads up Zoie!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment